Just a quick aside….

…..I’m doing a sprint triathlon later this month… and I’m not particularly looking forward to it.

When I signed up for it I was excited about more bling & by the fact that this year I should be a fair bit quicker than I have been in the past.

I’ve done a marathon (well sort of), a half marathon & I’ve been spinning & cycling all through the winter 😀

There’s a sticking point however….

….I haven’t managed to bring myself to swim again, since Weymouth Challenge in September last year….

2015-09-13 20.36.41

I’ve had a bit of a dip, a loss of mojo, in the past week or so. I think it’s because I’ve probably pushed myself a bit too much with afore mentioned running/walking. The cluster of migraines has been a bit of a give-away, my poor old body needs to rest…

But the thought of getting in the pool has been a real turn off – I watch the mad Friday Fresheners getting in the sea every week & think I should join them… it does look fun… apart from the water and the swimming bit :-/

I’m under prepared & hopefully I’ll get at least one swim in before the event…. One would be good…

I want to do well and prove to myself I am getting better, but obviously not enough to get my arse into gear and get swimming again. It’s made me realise that what I achieved when I did Weymouth Challenge was a big deal, bearing in mind how much I really hate swimming.

I kidded myself that I was ok about the swim, but I wasn’t really and I’m in no rush to swim…at all…again…ever…

67332_10152806406636382_1150298934637256347_n

Look out for me on April 24th… I’ll be happy once out of the pool….. 😀

2 thoughts on “Just a quick aside….

  1. Hey Cathy,
    I feel your nerves through the ether! I’m a bit on the nervous side too with the Sprint being my first triathalon. My swimming was so bad I’ve been in lessons since October., am confident I can so the 12lengths now but really apprehensive about being swum over or being held up (less likely!)
    Anyway I’ll probably be swimming at Weymouth on Sunday morning if you wanna join me?
    See you soon.
    Stella x

Leave a Reply

